Group Leaders

Dr Munehiro Asally

Assistant Professor, School of Life Sciences

Design principles in bacterial biofilm formation for synbio applications using interdisciplinary approaches including modelling and quantitative time-lapse imaging.

M.Asally@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Declan Bates

Professor of Bioengineering, School of Engineering

Co-Director | Theme 1 Lead | SynBio CDT

Developing modelling, simulation, and control system design frameworks for synthetic biological systems.

D.Bates@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Greg Challis

Professor of Sustainable Chemistry, Warwick Monash Alliance, Dept. of Chemistry

Theme 2 Lead

Discovery, biosynthesis, mechanism of action and pathway engineering of bioactive microbial natural products.

G.L.Challis@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Yin Chen

Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences

Microbial diversity, genetics and biochemistry of microorganisms involved in methylated amine and quaternary amine metabolism in the human body and terrestrial and marine ecosystems.

Y.Chen.25@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Joseph Christie-Oleza

NERC Independent Research Fellow, School of Life Sciences

Microbial interactions occurring between photosynthetic and heterotrophic marine microbes: culture physiology; molecular pathways; secreted products.

J.Christie-Oleza@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Chris Corre

Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences / Dept. of Chemistry

Characterisation of microbial transcriptional regulators that control antibiotic biosynthesis and/or antibiotic resistance in bacteria.

C.Corre@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Miriam Gifford

Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences

Cell-type specific plant responses to N-fixing mutualist microbes and to pathogens.

miriam.gifford@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Daniel Hebenstreit

Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences

Mechanisms of transcriptional regulation in metazoan cells, including interplay of epigenetics and transcription, ‘noise’ in gene and protein expression, reorganization of transcriptional networks.

D.Hebenstreit@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Alfonso Jaramillo

Professor of Synthetic Biology, School of Life Sciences | Research Professor, CNRS, France

Training & Education Lead

Engineering synthetic bacteriophages for phage therapy;  engineering new protein and RNA circuits able to sense pathogen signals in living cells.

Alfonso.Jaramillo@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Sara Kalvala

Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science

Application of the Programming Language paradigm and Compiler technology in translating functional requirements on synthetic biological systems. Spatio-temporal modelling of microbial communities.

Sara.Kalvala@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Vishwesh Kulkarni

Assistant Professor, School of Engineering

Synthetic gene networks for biotech and medical applications: dynamic programmable circuits, biomass maximization, and treatment of infectious diseases.

V.Kulkarni@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Nicholas Lee

Associate Professor, Director of Research, Centre for Education Studies

Theme 5 Lead

Cultural implications of, and responsible research and innovation in the field of synthetic biology.

N.M.Lee@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr John McCarthy

Professor of Molecular Systems Biology, School of Life Sciences

Director

Rate control and noise in eukaryotic gene expression. Design strategies and hardware for synthetic biology.

John.McCarthy@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Vardis Ntoukakis

Associate Professor, Royal Society Research Fellow, School of Life Sciences

Theme 4 Lead

Plant-microbe interactions including how pathogen perception leads to reprogramming of gene expression.

V.Ntoukakis@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Kevin Purdy

Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences

Fundamentals of microbial ecology, including microbial community structure and function. Study of microbial communities involved in global biogeochemical cycling.

K.Purdy@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Hendrik Schäfer

Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences

Microbial biotech, microbial communities, metagenomics, sulfur cycling, degradation of volatile sulfur compounds, biodegradation of aromatic compounds, methylotrophs.

H.Schaefer@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Patrick Schäfer

Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences

Customised regulation of stress-adaptive signalling networks in plants: stress perception and transduction

P.Schafer@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Orkun Soyer

Professor, School of Life Sciences

Co-Director | Theme 3 Lead | SynBio CDT Associate Director

Engineering signaling and metabolic systems, including  microbial communities for anaerobic digestion.

O.Soyer@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Nigel Stocks

Professor of Engineering / Head of School, School of Engineering

Stochastic nonlinear systems and resonance, biomimetic signal processing, sensory neural coding, auditory ribbon synapse signalling.

N.G.Stocks@warwick.ac.uk Website

Associate Members

Dr Blessing Anonye

Research Fellow, Warwick Medical School

Developing synthetic microbial community of gut-associated phages as an alternative therapy for recurrent C. difficile infection. Investigating host-pathogen interaction in C. difficile using novel in vitro gut cellular models of infection

B.Anonye@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Katherine Denby

Professor, Department of Biology, University of York

Re-engineering plant signaling networks to control stress responses and enhance tolerance to environmental conditions.

katherine.denby@york.ac.uk Website

Dr Elizabeth Fullam

Sir Henry Dale Fellow, School of Life Sciences

Nutrient uptake and metabolism in Mycobacterium tuberculosis.

E.Fullam@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Murray Grant

Elizabeth Creak chair in Food security, Professor, School of Life Sciences

Plant-microbe interactions with a focus on host responses to pathogenic bacteria, biocontrol and plant growth promotion conferred by beneficial fungi.

M.Grant@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Matthew Jenner

Leverhulme Early Career Fellow, Dept. of Chemistry

Mapping protein-protein interactions in modular polyketide synthases using structural mass spectrometry.

m.jenner@warwick.ac.uk

Dr Rachel K O'Reilly

FRSC, Professor, Dept. of Chemistry

Materials synthesis, DNA templated reactions and complex bioinspired materials, novel compartmentalisation approaches and catalysis.

Rachel.Oreilly@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Marco Polin

Assistant Professor, Dept. of Physics

Microorganismal motility: large scale properties of motion, motility regulation, dynamical properties of cilia and flagella. Integration of quantitative experimental results and mathematical modelling.

m.polin@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr David Roper

Reader in Structural Biology, School of Life Sciences

Molecular basis of microbial physiology for antibiotic resistance and bacterial cell wall biosynthesis. Synthetic and translational approaches to obtain and reengineer pathway intermediates as probes/substrates/inhibitors.

David.Roper@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Antonia Sagona

BBSRC Future Leader Fellow, School of Life Sciences

Mechanisms of bacterial infection and phage therapy inside the mammalian cell environment, using cell biology and synthetic biology tools.

A.Sagona@warwick.ac.uk Website

Honorary Group Leaders

Dr Jordi Garcia-Ojalvo

Professor, Department of Experimental and Health Sciences, Universitat Pompeu Fabra

Dynamics of biological circuits at both the single-cell and population levels, in systems ranging from bacteria to the brain

jordi.g.ojalvo@upf.edu Website

Dr Victor de Lorenzo

Professor of Research (CSIC), Systems Biology Program, Centro Nacional de Biotecnologia, Madrid

vdlorenzo@cnb.csic.es Website

Post-Doctoral Research Assistants

Dr Nathan Archer

WISB Post Doctoral Research Assistant, School of Life Sciences

N.Archer@warwick.ac.uk

Dr Estelle Dacheux

WISB Post Doctoral Research Assistant, School of Life Sciences

e.dacheux@warwick.ac.uk

Dr Ana Domingues-Ferreras

WISB Post Doctoral Research Assistant, School of Life Sciences

A.Dominguez-Ferreras@warwick.ac.uk

Dr Mathias Foo

WISB Post Doctoral Research Assistant, School of Engineering

M.Foo@warwick.ac.uk

Dr Miriam Rodriguez Garcia

WISB Post Doctoral Research Assistant, Department of Chemistry and School of Life Sciences

M.Rodriguez-Garcia@warwick.ac.uk

Dr Chuan Huang

WISB Post Doctoral Research Assistant, Department of Chemistry

C.Huang.7@warwick.ac.uk

Dr Silke Lehmann

WISB Post Doctoral Research Assistant, School of Life Sciences

S.Lehmann@warwick.ac.uk

Dr Xiang Meng

WISB Post Doctoral Research Assistant, School of Life Sciences

Xiang.Meng@warwick.ac.uk

Dr James Stratford

WISB Post Doctoral Research Assistant, School of Life Sciences

J.Stratford@warwick.ac.uk

WISB Research Career Development Fellows

WISB Research Career Development Fellows contribute to and expand upon, current WISB research themes in synthetic biology or in related ethical, legal or societal aspects (ELSA) of synthetic biology.

Dr Byron Carpenter

WISB Research Career Development Fellow

Molecular mechanisms of signal transduction by G protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs).

B.Carpenter@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Eleanor Jameson

WISB Research Career Development Fellow

Gut microbiology, quaternary amine metabolism, microbial communities, genetics.

Eleanor.Jameson@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Binuraj Menon

WISB Research Career Development Fellow

Identification of new halogenated synthetic, natural and non-natural compounds; and further exploitation and synthesis of these compounds.

B.Menon@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Emmanuel de los Santos

WISB Research Career Development Fellow

Computational identification of biosynthetic gene clusters that produce natural products. Redesign and modularization of biosynthetic genes for engineering novel natural products.

e.de-los-santos@warwick.ac.uk Website

Dr Lauren Swiney

WISB Research Career Development Fellow

Public understanding of science and intuitive reasoning about synthetic biology from the perspective of the cognitive and behavioural sciences.

laurenswiney@gmail.com Website

SynBio Centre for Doctoral Training PhD Students

Alexander Darlington

PhD Student, SynBio CDT

A.P.S.Darlington@warwick.ac.uk Website

Philip Davies

PhD Student, SynBio CDT

P.Davies.1@warwick.ac.uk Website

Marco Delise

PhD Student, SynBio CDT

M.Delise@warwick.ac.uk Website

Iulia Gherman

PhD Student, SynBio CDT

I.Gherman@warwick.ac.uk Website

Aurelija Grigonyte

PhD Student, SynBio CDT

A.M.Grigonyte@warwick.ac.uk Website

Jack Hassall

PhD Student, SynBio CDT

J.Hassall@warwick.ac.uk Website

Clarmyra Hayes

PhD Student, SynBio CDT

C.Hayes@warwick.ac.uk

Jack Ho

PhD Student, SynBio CDT

J.Ho.4@warwick.ac.uk

Peter Morrison

PhD Student, SynBio CDT

P.Morrison@warwick.ac.uk Website

Nuno Paulino

PhD Student, SynBio CDT

N.Paulino@warwick.ac.uk

Andrea Martinez Vernon

PhD Student, SynBio CDT

A.S.Martinez-Vernon@warwick.ac.uk Website

© Copyright WISB 2015 | All Rights Reserved | Website by Adao*